Music Recommendations

This page is dedicated to the music on high rotation, recommended by staff and friends.

Neil’s Choice:
ДахаБраха- The Road

DahkaBrakha are a Ukranian group that combines various musical styles to create some kind of genius. They mix music with performance art, and in fact were originally a side project of an avante garde theatre group. They have transcended theatre now and work to fuse all sorts of infulences into something plainly unique, and mesmerising. Their latest album 'The Road' continues in this vein.

Well worth a listen.

 Have a listen to it here


Paul’s Choice: King of Leon - Walls

"Like in a mainstream melody/Oh, I want to take you in!" sings Caleb Followill on "Wild," a pop-rock rhinestone delivering said melody with bell-toned guitars and a sing-along chorus. Sure enough, after a sleeves-up recommitment to their Southern garage-ish roots on Mechanical Bull in 2013, the band's seventh LP tries to parse what "mainstream" means right now for a bunch of true-to-their-school guitar-slingers. The result is radio-buff rock & roll that could spoon between One Republic's genre-splicing power moves and the Head and the Heart's folk-pop uplift.

Producer Markus Dravs (Coldplay, Mumford & Sons) does an admirable job of translating Followill's signature slurred delivery and the band's muscular jangle into thicker arrangements, though the result can feel generic: "Reverend" resembles the pro-forma rock Nashville now markets as "country," while the anthemic "whoa-ooo"s in "Waste a Moment" – mirroring the Kings' mega-hit "Use Somebody" – have a whiff of old stadium hot-dogs. Encouragingly, the best bits are less predictable. The homeboy requiem "Muchacho" echoes the drum-machine cha-cha revival seeded by D.R.A.M. and Drake's "Hotline Bling" with a Roy Orbison delivery (remix!). And the title track is a slow-build power ballad suggesting the Kings can be more potent and distinctive when they dial it back.

Have a listen here